2

I committed to the "health" proposal while signed out, so Area51 automatically created a new account for me. You guys should offer the chance to log in first, not just create a new account.

the account i accidentally created on area51 is: name: trusktr email: jp@keepskatinbro.com

If you could please delete it, that would be appreciated. I've logged in with my real account, so i can commit to the new "health" site with it instead.

I'd recommend for devs to fix this problem by taking users who click on the commit email message to log in first instead of going through this hassle.

  • 1
    Hmm, apart from the top bar showing "log in" rather than your user info, the page looks identical and behaves identically. I agree that the pop-up when you hit "Commit" should offer a chance to log in (and auto-populate some info when you are logged in). That said I believe this should be on MSO, since it's not about a particular proposal. – Matthew Read Sep 6 '11 at 16:25
  • 1
    @Dori Ah, great, I actually much prefer that. I'll try to keep better track of these things :P – Matthew Read Sep 6 '11 at 20:45
  • Hope it gets fixed! – trusktr Sep 9 '11 at 1:18
2

It ought to be fixed in general, but as this doesn't happen too often I've just merged the two accounts.

  • What happens when two accounts are merged? – trusktr Sep 9 '11 at 1:17
  • So questions, comments, etc are merged... What about reputation (not that it matters since the new account had like zero rep, but just curious)? – trusktr Sep 9 '11 at 2:59
  • Haha. Well thanks. :) – trusktr Sep 9 '11 at 20:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .