8

If I create a proposal and gain reputation from users joining my proposal, what happens to such reputation when the proposal is eventually closed, or when it progresses to a main site (after public beta)?

9

I am reasonably sure you do not retain the reputation when a proposal is deleted (all closed proposals are eventually deleted), but you do retain the reputation from a proposal while it is simply closed.

The code used to build Area 51 derived form our main Q&A, so we share of lot of the behaviors of a traditional Stack Exchange site. A proposal is roughly analogous to a 'question' on Stack Exchange, while the the proposal's "example questions" are roughly analogous to 'answers' on a Stack Exchange site. So when a question is closed (on SE), the reputation does not disappear, but once it is deleted, the reputation associated with it is also removed. Same goes for this site.

While I don't have access to the actual codebase to check, I'm reasonably certain this is how it works.

  • 5
    Based on my experience, you do retain reputation from deleted proposals until a rep recalc occurs. Otherwise I don't see how, for example, this user has that much rep. I don't know if that's intentional or a bug, but it's always happened for me. Incidentally, it's pretty annoying to lose hundreds of rep overnight from a mostly random process. – Logan M Apr 25 '14 at 17:54
  • @LoganM Good point. As of December 2013, there is no "Trigger Reputation Recalc" button anymore on the main Q&As because most reputation-changing events are accounted for in real time. That whole process probably was not back ported to Area 51. – Robert Cartaino Apr 25 '14 at 18:02
  • But closed proposals are eventually deleted, aren't they? So, everything that doesn't survive public beta, will be sooner or later erased from your rep? Or there are some exceptions - closed proposals that are promised to never be deleted? – Donaudampfschifffreizeitfahrt Apr 28 '14 at 7:43
  • 1
    When a proposal goes into beta or becomes a new site, does that behave like a deleted proposal as well? or is the rep. kept? – Rick M. Feb 9 '18 at 23:39
  • 1
    @RickM. No, proposals are retained even AFTER the site launches, so the reputation gained is NOT removed. See the 'beta' and 'launched' tabs here – Robert Cartaino Feb 9 '18 at 23:42

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .